Friday, May 18, 2018

Audio Book Review: Exile

Exile

By:  David Wood & Sean Ellis

Publish Date:  September 28, 2017, Audiobook Release April 11, 2018

Format:  Audiobook - 8 hrs 26 mins
Narrated By:  Jeffrey Kafer

Genre:  Adventure, Suspense, Thriller

Series:  3rd in Jade Ihara Adventures series; 1st Book ~ Oracle, 2nd Book ~ Changeling

Impression:  Another hair raising adventure for Jade and Professor into the view of slavery.

Synopsis:
Jade Ihara is caught in a centuries old power struggle between a slave cult who believes she might be the incarnation of the goddess of liberty, and a secret cabal with plans for world domination. Can she unravel the mystery of the Cult of Veritas and find their sacred relics before it’s too late? David Wood and Sean Ellis deliver another action-packed thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Fans of Indiana Jones, Tomb Raider, Rogue Angel, and Dane Maddock will love Exile!

First Sentence:
....
Purchase At:
Amazon  /  Barnes & Noble  /  Book Depository

Audible

My Thoughts and Summary:
*I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

As always, Jeffrey Kafer narrates the story with perfection. I know, it seems strange for a man to narrate a woman, but that does not defer from Jade's story in the least. I don't even hear that it's a male voice. Jeffrey has a way of carrying the suspense, adventure, and curiosity in his voice for the characters. He retains the calm the characters feel in stressful, scary moments. Although, there is some worry and nerves that creep through in this story for Jade and Professor, and Jeffrey enunciates them. We get the feel of the characters emotions, feelings, and personality through Jeffrey's tones and attitude voiced.

Wow. Jade spends most of the book on the run! She's running for her life in Rome, Italy along with on a slave boat. Jade is a handy woman on her own. Almost a female McGyver!

We start with Jade having been kidnapped, possibly being sold as a slave. We see a darker side to Haiti with Professor doing all he can to find Jade. This is where Jade gets nervous. What can she really do? Jade is determined to fight, and fight she does. She will do anything if there's a sliver of hope to survive.

This story is focused on Jade. She's grown as a character and in her skills, and it shows here. Even Professor notes it several times to himself. She may not need him around to protect her any longer. And that bothers him a bit. Jade has grown stronger. Some of the things she has to do... Ugh. *stomach drops* She's a bit more of a daredevil than I would have thought. Wow. Professor even has his extraordinary events here. But he refuses to leave Jade fend for herself.

I love Jade with Professor. They get under each other's skin, but they're a great pair with all they know and can do. They could even, someday in the future, be a great couple. They challenge each other but are great friends and work companions.

This story touches close to home for many people and brings up a heated topic. Slavery. This is not just about the past slaves but also the human trafficking that still happens in the world. There is even a brief touch on what people consider liberty and freedom. Even how some feel about America and immigrants is touched on here. All amazing topics to discuss and think on. This book opens a door to these subjects for people to think on. It's not meant to begin an argument or upset anyone, but hopefully to open eyes and ears to bring the subjects in the open so people can understand and work to stop slavery. This was the impression I got from the characters.

We get sections that are detailed in explaining. There are true history pieces used to create the fiction from. I love how the minds of David Wood and Sean Ellis use history to create their stories. It makes the story feel so much more invested for me.

Another hair raising adventure for Jade and Professor. As always, I look forward to more with them.



****If you found my thoughts helpful, please click Yes at Amazon and/or Audible. Thank you!

2 comments:

  1. THis cover reminds me of something...I should try and find it

    ReplyDelete
  2. What a horrible life to lead.

    ReplyDelete

Sorry, got 106 spam comments in less than 24hrs. Had to turn on again.

I love comments! Please share your thoughts. I will respond here in the comments back to you.

I'll try again without word verification, but if Spammers get out of hand again I'll turn it back on.

Thank you for visiting!